Respect comes in small packages

RespectI wanted to be someone, someone people could respect. Personally I don’t want to be a role model that’s just a relatively bad idea especially since I’m an anti-societal and anti-conformist. I just want to be respected for who I am, not what people wanted me to be. I learned never to try gain respect, not only is it an exhausting effort but it’s pointless as respect doesn’t work like that.

Respect like many other given niceties such as “Like” “Love” and “Appreciation”, they are given not gained. Working to gain someone’s approval might only get you a factorized version which is not the real version but a pseudo to make you feel you better. Almost like having a fan, they give you what would consider true love but its surface appreciation that changes when you don’t live up to their ideal.

True respect is a high level of approval on the same level like love if not almost, respect like love is because the person as they are, has established themselves earnestly in some manner over time to you in a very positive way. I remember when I was young I didn’t get much respect from many people and thought I was deficient.

As I grown into an adult I realized that only few people actually respecting you, might be normal. With so many people and views in the world, there are a lot of people you will meet over the time of your life. So it might help to be modest about the situation and appreciate your small blessings. The people that truly love and stand with you are better than a mass of fake love and praise.

Respect comes in small packages

Leave a Reply

