Your Quiet Place

Quiet PlaceWhen you have time, you think and ponder important things, nuisances that rub you raw or the wonders of the universe. Many people do not get enough time to think and consider the details of their life and the world around them. Then again, too much leisure time leads to boredom and boredom kills.

Notwithstanding of this, I believe time to think is good for the soul once in a while, to just let go off the stresses of the world and let your mind drift off on a journey. The destination does not matter only the experiences that you will encounter.

When my mind drifts off, I create stories with their own cultures, characters and drama inside a unique world, the stories progress with each time I can get to think. I always loved a good story it really gets my blood going wanting to turn the next page to see what happens next. This is why reading a manga is kind of heart wrenching, you reach the last released issue in the middle of a epic battle and have to wait next week to read on (blast!).

My mind is a little kinder to me. When I was young people could easily tell when my mind was very far away, it would be obvious in the way I looked and acted. As I grew older I learned to focus my mind on different things simultaneously enabling me to create my worlds and do normal tasks with ease.

But I am weird like that, creating worlds in my mind, must be something normal of a mad man, mad genius? I do not know, the social norms that define me wavers from time to time.Anyways we all have our quiet place we visit, to find peace. If you explain it to someone, they might find that weird just like you would find their quiet place weird. It goes to show that a person’s quiet place is unique to them, so whether it is locked in your room, with music buck to the highest volume or lying in the middle of a grassy field counting the stars, cherish your quiet place and your leisure time, they are there when nothing else is.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. You can follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw

Your Quiet Place

Leave a Reply

