Gainning and Managing Confidence

Gaining and Managing ConfidenceWhen insulted people tend to get angry. Years past though I used to hang with some friends where insults flew like free air fare and surprisingly we didn’t end up getting angry at each other, nowadays the group of friends I refer to grew apart to some extent. But we still meet for a few annual gatherings. I learnt to be proud of myself from this particular group, as they accepted each of their personal faults, so when insults to my character came I did not mind either I accepted it as such.

Becoming confident around my friends had a lot to do with that fact, as I was confident when they made humor at my expense they meant only comical harm. This confidence grew till I pretty much heard it all. When insulted, people would tell me what they thought they knew about me, which I realized most the time they were wrong, why should I correct them, leave them in their ignorance.

It took me a certain level of soul-finding to find my own true power to draw from, not other peoples. As many people may not know this but a truly confident person takes the joy of love from within, not outside. Otherwise you would be a a**hole or a**kisser. So with my own power I fended off the obstacles and hate bringing me down.

But I knew that this power was not something to play with, I couldn’t let it draw me in completely and turn me into my own worse nightmare. That would turn me into a narcissist which I stray away from with my best effort. So I use it for defense not drive, cause I didn’t want to knock down anyone to get higher up the mountain we all climb. While I go through these emotions I try to maintain, current success must be taken moderately with scorn even as complacency can kill the king.

I have come far as a human being but through my character is of high regard I cannot say same for the control of it. But life is a learning process and as time passes I will become more proficient in my control of my new confidence’s might and trappings.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. You can follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw

Gainning and Managing Confidence

Leave a Reply

