My Jamaican Pride Imprisoned

Ja behind Jail Bars

There are times when I wonder if politicians were invented to be the enemies of the people. Take this for example. The British Prime Minister David Cameron recently came to Jamaica, one of his main matters of concern was this deal he offered to provide funding for a new prison in Jamaica. But to append further it would include the transfer of prisoners of Jamaican decent from England prisons to this prison when built.

It should be noted that it was agreed in 2007 that there would be a transfer of prisoners between the countries but it did not go further than an agreement. I would guess this is his way of kicking our government into action by the gift of a prison to match. While it is true our prison system and the associated buildings being used as correctional facilities are deplorable for lack of a better word, I personally feel a bit short-changed by this plan being considered.

The same way I am short-changed by the government’s pandering to IMF and their current campaign to have the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) as the final court of appeal. The reason I feel short-changed by much of this is that all of these things make me feel less Jamaican, less important as a Jamaican in the global scheme of things. I feel the government considers Jamaica in itself below everybody in the world, it is like anything marked Jamaican is not good enough for them to consider.

Ok I know we are a small country we have many problems, we not up to international standards in many areas. But let me just say this, many countries have problems unique to them, some of these problems they get scrutinized for internationally. Nobody, no country is perfect. I will not even use the argument about England’s debt to us from slavery cause at the end of the day we the people with government in the drivers’ seat made the country worse. We never liberated our minds from the dependence on our masters.

Why do we need to surrender our control to our so-called “betters” because we just do not believe in our self-worth as a people. Why does an international organization have to police and discipline our economic and fiscal policies, can we not do that ourselves? Why do we have to make a foreign court be the last court of appeal, do we not have courts and judges of good enough caliber for that? Why do we have to accept a prison so England can alleviate their prison budget, they committed crime in your country, are they not your problem? I wonder if we have that privilege where we can send back a foreign international prisoner or are we not considered for such benefits because it is not much a problem for us.

I suppose it would be ethically if not sensibly right to accept back our bad eggs, but we have enough problems as it is, can we endure accepting more? The way I see it the prison sounds good but when that is filled with hundreds more prisoners from England inclusive of our own, you will hear cries of “we need a new prison”. Well at least we would have one extra prison on our list of prisons, when we would eventually say that, trying to look at the brighter side of things here folks.

I do not know anymore maybe I am getting too nationalistic for my own good, but I still feel short-changed, I still feel all of these things are not in our best interest, I still feel like we are nothing in the eyes of them we try to impress in the global community.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. You can follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw

My Jamaican Pride Imprisoned

Leave a Reply

