Why Communication is Important

conversation

Communication is something that many do not put an importance on when it comes to human interaction. Communication is not just talking, anybody can talk, not everyone can listen effectively, not everybody can speak clearly. I have had to learn how to do both and even now at my acceptable level I still have a lot to learn.

I have never been someone who has commanded much authority when I speak, so I usually find myself being the person least listened-to or given attention in group discussions. I am not good at just making short concise statements (unless they are statements I say often), I have a habit of explaining things too much sometimes. I am trying to get to a level where I can express my myself and my knowledge in a short number of words.

To convey your exact feelings to speech is not easy, much less to translate that to your audience and have them resonate in the feelings you are expressing. It takes practice, confidence and a bit of tact.

I am a good listener and I pay full attention to people when they speak to me, my hearing is not that good though. It is kind of annoying when people have to repeat what they say three or more times to you especially when there is a urgency to get the task done. I resonate with that irritation so I try my best to ask once get it right once.

But listening is not about remembering what the person said, but also understanding it. Understanding the tone and feeling of what is being said and why. So the next response is not just a nod but a full vivid conversation unless you are a person of few words.

What I can say is that I have noted I am good perking people up and making them laugh, since I am kind of loony toon and prone to doing weird amusing stuff. I just choose my time to do them, where I am more calm and laid-back most of the times. This may not make me command authority but it means people can feel comfortable around me at least.

We all have to live and work together, so practicing good speaking and listening can be what sets the persons of interest from the dismal rest.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. You can follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw

Why Communication is Important

Leave a Reply

