I Will Be Great, I swear!

Halo around a Fist

I have to admit it is hard for me right now, the stress of work is hard, the stark reality of my family makes me feel less than a man right now. My entrepreneurial efforts are looking like a broken down shop round the corner from the name brand super mart down the street. I am not making that much I must admit. I realize this must make it hard for me to inspire anyone on this blog, I am probably in worse positions than most of you people, I am not much of a leader I am just an aspirant.

But I believe that the voice from the bottom is really the loudest. Not that I am at the bottom, my life is not as bad as some people in Africa and the more impoverished in Jamaica. Guess I should not be complaining but I am human and right now, it is not as comfortable as I would wish. To see my fellow men in their big houses and cars and wonderful lives. I am actually in debt, I have made bad professional and relationship choices.

Hey I guess I can help people, I am a bad example! Well not so much now though, even though the effects of those choices still linger, I learned from my bad choices hence the real down to earth advice I give from time to time on this blog. Thank god for WordPress, ranter’s welcome.

Remember that small business risk I told you people I made some time ago, I am here to say it actually failed. It really was to buy some things cheaply in bulk and resell them, simple business plan right? Since things in America are vastly cheaper than in Jamaica, this is a usually good start for many entrepreneurs. I hit one snag that I did predict but I realized was worse than I thought. The consumers demand was low for my particular product and the market was more saturated than I expected. I realized the cost of advertising my product against my competition would become counter-productive.

So I decided to cut my loses, resell them through other avenues which restricted them to a lower cost, so I did not make a loss but I did not make a profit either. Oh well I can try something else, there is always new ideas to try. Every failure just teaches me a little more how to do my business better than I did the last time.

I cannot stop here though, I will not just stop at just ranting about my past problems, this blog is like my own healing it documents and reminds me better than anything why I needed to man up and stop being a fool. I need it as much as it needs me. As do the people that follow it, I think.

I will be great enough to change the world one day cause I do not like the world I am growing up into. I promised my family that, better yet I promised myself that. Ask my friends I am man who keeps his promises.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. You can follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw

I Will Be Great, I swear!

Leave a Reply

