Fun Vs Depression and Boredom

Happy people
Art Image by Dean Moriarty https://pixabay.com/en/users/terimakasih0-624267

Time pasts by quickly when you’re having fun, time pasts by slowly when you’re bored as hell, damn I wish it was the other way around but I guess that would be hoping for too much. But I can note for a fact when I am bored, my mind tends to think more, it essentially wanders on many different things, this is all fine and good but what does it do for you in such a state?

It won’t do much unless you make sure of it, whereas you can decide to turn it into your own madness, a calm tranquil rest from the world or your personal think-tank meeting. I think it is good for people to rest their mind once in a while, just like it is good to think on things you need done to make sure you remember them.

Those options take up your concentration and before you know it your time goes by quite quickly. I cannot say this will help everyone, some people might go through depression and I know from experience that even when you’re having your usual fun, it really does not feel fun at all. If I am in a bad mood I would be putting on a smile through it all, but it felt like my soul was completely drained and exhausted.

I did not conquer my self-diagnosed depression with pills, I never went to a doctor with my personal problems. I conquered it with my friends, supporters and willpower, trust me it was harder than it sounds and I had to go through a lot of phases to get to the mentally strong person I am today.

Side note for relevance if you’re going through continual sadness, anxiety, general gloomy feelings seek help please, my depression made me consider taking my life, I got help, please I am pleading with anyone reading this and might be going through tough mental struggles. Confide in someone, do not let it crush you.

You decide how to use your free time, but never let it run away from you, you have to exercise control where need be and not allow the life you live dictate how you and what you should do too much. Stress and sadness looms if you allow it. Know that your living for you not the idea of you, true happiness happens when you go down that path.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. You can follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw

Fun Vs Depression and Boredom

Leave a Reply

