Our Mind is a Powerful Thing: Needs over Wants

face, mind, body

Our mind is a powerful thing, so much that it can determine what we do and how we react to things. For example if we have an urge, satisfying that urge becomes the main thing on our mind. This is why having control over your mind makes you wiser. Because you will be more likely to make decisions in your optimum best interest (needs) and not in you desirable best interest (wants).

Everyone has desires, dreams, things they would like to do. But that does not mean it would be the best thing for them to do it right now. This is where that individual has to ask themselves, should I really do this now? Will this really benefit me? What are the consequences?

Fast food I loved and I used to buy cooked food from restaurants. My favorite meal will always be chicken with rice and peas. But I really liked burgers too. Back when things were not so good for me, I was working voluntarily at a community centre. I needed food but I could not afford the food I wanted. With little money, my appetite and habits had to change. Slowly but surely I cut my expensive habits little by little, one by one.

Now I have almost no ambition to eat any food from restaurants and fast food establishments. Nowadays I like the feeling I have saved money and still fulfilled my appetite. Especially since I did it on my own, with my own two hands, It feels much more better in my opinion.

Buying more economically, I had to focus on buying flour, pepper, tomato, irish potatoes, other ground provisions, sugar, drink mixes etc. Preparing foods myself, yes I had to learn to cook. Yes, I burnt a few meals. Looking at slightly burnt pancakes, and remembering the small amount of money I had left. Common sense hit me with a reality grimmer than my parent’s description. So I ate the pancakes anyway and promised myself not to spoil it next time. Throwing away food was not an option, period.

Avoiding processed foods when I can manage, they would cost too much and the same money to buy it could feed me for days if I cook at home. So i made meals for myself at home, carry it to work if possible. Urges were controlled and I avoided the pitfall of debt that could have been the end of me. Will you make the change to control your urges if the circumstances require it? I am in a better position now, when I did what was best for me at the time, placing needs over wants.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. You can follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw

Our Mind is a Powerful Thing: Needs over Wants

Leave a Reply

