Finding Purpose in This World

Rainbow in the mountains

Growing up it was hard for me to get used to societal norms and values worse when you try to compare that with your life purpose. Life is an interesting beast when you think about it, I sometimes wonder why I was brought on this earth. This train of thought pattern mainly started when I became an adult. When I was younger my thoughts followed the patterns of people and society. Considering for a long time the reasons why I was so different from the people and the society around me.

It was hard for me as when I was young I could do no right in other people’s eyes, I felt isolated and alone as I became the regular laughingstock. Rejected and dejected more than accepted was me. It took me a while but I was able to liberate myself from thinking about how others saw me in the world. Deciding to take precedence in knowing how I wanted to see myself.

The narrative was defined by me, my own story. Making my own purpose, i gained confidence. But during all of this, I wonder if there might be a force I cannot see that might be influencing and guiding me to some destiny I know little of. Could it be a god, an otherworldly entity of sorts? Considering my lack of belief in such things it is hard to come to any reasonable understanding regarding that possibility.

I want to believe I will do great things for the world. I must admit I tend to try harder to help and support the people around me because of that. It is not pandering, as I seek nothing from them, true service comes from knowing you did help and you did it well, a reward is unimportant.

What will happen to me is beyond my imagination, but my determination knows little boundary. If I strive for that high goal in mind every day, maybe, maybe I might just change the world for the better one day.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. You can follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw

Finding Purpose in This World

Leave a Reply

