How I Learned to Never Giveup

working, construction, never give up

How do I get myself to work long hours after finishing my day job, forgoing sleep some days?

How do I get myself to stay at work hours after my shift as finished?

How do I get myself to write when my mind is not even in the mood for writing?

How do I get myself to do work I get online when I would rather sleep?

To continuously enter graphic competitions and lose getting low ratings compared to these super designers who been doing this for years or have a designer gene, I seem to lack.

To write and wonder, am I doing it correctly, proper character development and plotting, what if I write an over one hundred thousand (100,000) word novel and no one likes it, no publisher wants to go near it.

Wanting and dreaming about being an entrepreneur from I was 19 years old. I only started my entrepreneurial journey more than a year ago. I knew it would take a long time but I always feel this urgent feeling. Now that I think about it, this urgent feeling has actually helped my efforts and got me to avoid complacency. As I push my myself more and try new methods when I see no or little progress.

But I do I get myself to keep working and researching when my friends, family are sleeping and having fun. Maybe I have some personality traits that give me a slight advantage, but even then I know the main qualities that help me become the driven person that I am, were LEARNED.

These learned qualities and practices are:

  1. Seek Outlets for Frustration
  2. Discipline
  3. Positive Reinforcement
  4. Dreaming
  5. Setting Small Goals and High Future Demands

Always keep working at it, patience and dedication is key, whether you want to be an entrepreneur or not. Success is something you have to work hard for. So you need the above qualities and practices to get there.

I am a person that does not give up easily but naturally now and then I feel bad and down in the weather as time whisks by and I get older. This is probably why I do not celebrate my birthday which on February 13, being 25 right now I am half way through my young adulthood.

But I am not very happy right now with my slow success, I put on a smile for everyone around me because it is not professional to bring your life problems to work. I do not want to heavy down my friend’s minds with my worries. The ladies in my life I need to be strong for them, showing weakness is not an option.

Giving up I will never do.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. You can follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw

How I Learned to Never Giveup

Leave a Reply

