Diary of a Workholic

sweat of a worker

Working hard these last several weeks I have been stressed to the limit. It has become hard to get some things done as I am busy doing other things. So I am finding myself prioritizing things heavily right now. It does not bode well with me mostly as I have a lot I want to get done but I cannot right now. So much work I have to ask myself if I am a workaholic.

Being a entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer for hire, working full time as an Assistant Dialysis Technician I am busier than the King’s servants. Maybe I am over exaggerating but it feels like that, to be honest. Here is the best part, I am trying to put in more work on top of that!?

Well, I cannot deny it now, I am a workaholic, I love the grind, the work, the race. The rewards, the rest period and accolades are boring and pointless to me. Now that I think about it, it is probably the reason I am still trying to start a business after so much failures and disappointments.

My tolerance level is high I must admit. This level of work I do daily would break weaker men. Not going to deny also I take a sense of pride in that. Leisure time comes in short breaks in between tasks, madness is not my ultimate goal. Success is my goal. It is just that with me, it is work before play.

Still trying to work on my personal website and get that into order, it is bare and empty as hell. My business website is doing fine but I swear it is a lot of work getting it up in the world, SEO and marketing it on social media is free but labor intensive.

Writing a novel right now it is pretty much half way done, I use Channillo to showcast it. Uploading a chapter monthly, I am ahead by three chapters. But I have to make sure I have something to upload after all It would be bad if I got too busy and I cannot upload anything periodically. Pretty much what happened for this blog too often.

This is more professional of me, I admire the growth I have attained much from the lessons learned. People would advise me that I should not take on so many business ventures at a time. Relying on only one thing is not me. With my lack of resources and leverage to get one really successful, I had a lot of time so I put that time to use essentially.

Maybe I should cut some things again, problem is all of them are important right now. So I will have to manage it the best way I can. Besides if I am not working, then I am not living anyways.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. You can follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw

Diary of a Workholic

Leave a Reply

