Strength of a Man

relationship

A strong man is not one that has massive muscles or a strict manner. Mental strength is more valued than any other form of strength I know. It is also the most unrewarded and disregarded strength for men to train. Media of our society places more of an importance on the muscles.

Mental strength is very important, especially in relationships. Muscles do not help with women, it only attracts them. Maintaining and understanding a woman requires effort, mental fortitude and your trust. You cannot trust anyone if your mental state is weak.

When my mind was weak it stemmed from my insecurity. Back when I did not love myself enough. It was temperamental I did not give much consideration for others as I made random decisions purely on emotion. Running was my prerogative, never confronting the hard issues of the relationship, who would want to? The relationship’s problems I did not want to face up to. When you have

Running was my prerogative, never confronting the hard issues of the relationship, who would want to? The relationship’s problems I did not want to face up to. When you have an unsteady mind, you wonder more than you should, thoughts dance. The people I loved the most got hurt from them.

Steady as a rabbit I was, the slightest thing had my mind running. Weakness had me treating the one closest to me like crap when she did not treat me in any bad way. Just to make me feel better. That is a bitch move, I was a bitch. Destroying something precious because I could not take the struggle, that I started.

We all know what we can handle, what we do not like. Do not place yourself in a relationship when you  definitely know you do not want to work towards accepting that partner’s behavior and beliefs. We as men tend to shy away from talking about our feelings, worse to our partners.

Strength comes from going into the fire that is someone’s emotions and feelings even when you do not want to. You are weak for running from something you started, crushing your partner’s heart for disregarding it. Sex, sex, sex, that is all that goes through the mind. That is a narrow mind.

We as men get stronger with each relationship as do women. We all have to learn throughout all this. A few young couples get lucky to find the right one to be able to learn these lessons with them and build each other’s respective mental strength.

If it does not work out, we need to move on gracefully. As men we all have to learn from these experiences and try to apply the lessons to the next relationship. This will make the next experience less stressful and we would become wiser for it. So grow those mental muscles. Would you say you are weak?


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. Check out his work on his website or follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw, google, pinterest

Strength of a Man

Leave a Reply

