That Rule

Lock

When I was a young child my mother kept me in the house as a rule. The house I was not allowed out of. She would always tell me to avoid the children around where I lived. Being the obedient quiet one kept up her rule even through high school. This rule probably saved me from a number of bad influences and unfortunately made socializing a painful process in my adult stage.

Her mindset that given rise to such a rule was compounded even more by the fact that she did not get along well with her neighbors. She wanted me to study, go to school, not be on the road playing. She did not want me to grow up like the other boys in the neighborhood, much less associate with them.

Pretty much I never did, I never asked to play with them or tried to get to know them. As I grew into an adult I can say I avoided a “lot of time wasting” company. But I was low in confidence, bad at interacting with people, reluctant at socializing and very anxious about my place in the world. Realizing I was gravely different from my peers and it was hard to deal with, so I did not for a long time.

But as they say, you live you learn and I learned slowly but surely. Anti-social traits died slowly but people still think I am because I do not talk as much. When in actuality I just choose my time to talk very carefully now, not out of fear but out of efficiency.

Small talk with people is considered pointless and time wasting to me, unless you are a close friend. Normal friends or acquaintances usually are not interested with random small talk, so I spare them the horror of it. When these same people would hide on a wall, I am in the middle of the floor dancing. I tend to not care what people think of me. If someone corrects me on something, I listen to it but I hold no feeling towards the person regarding it.

Thinking of it, I guess that makes me a late bloomer in some of your books. But I would have it no other way. In a way, it makes me interesting, weird but unique. So looking back at your past childhood if some things happened differently and you turned out differently would you like that better?


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer.
Check out his work on his website or follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw, google or Pinterest.

 

That Rule

Leave a Reply

