Am I successful?

successful money

Am I successful? Talking to a friend I was telling him how I got a ghostwriting job to do a small novel for around a couple hundred dollars. He was getting all hot under the weather about how I must be a successful writer to be making money like that. Well granted it is nice to make money. But to be honest, It is not anything special and I know I am far from successful right now.

At the end of the day, he does not know the debt I have. The average income I gain now from my profit avenues are not large enough to live off of. Working on Fiverr in itself can be difficult because you have to slave for small amounts as low as $5. Get enough reviews then you can charge bigger money for your services.

Not many people have the temperament for it, especially with so much competition on the site. A month will pass and I get no sales period.

Thinking about where I have come from to this day in my life. Many achievements to date I can attest to, currently half done with my first novel. My personal website is up, still needs some work, though. But I have things going up for me. Freelancing I am actually making money from now and then.

Managing it and making sure it stays that way is my goal. Naturally, I need new profit outlets and more promotion. Social media was my principal method of promotion. But I am thinking of utilizing Patreon in the short term for both promotion and profit benefits.

Make long term improvement to my social media channels, especially google + is paramount. To this day my social channels do not help me convert sales. They do create awareness which will help expand my reach and followers.

The selling of graphic designs packs off my website for future passive profit sounds nice. Actually, this is where I am failing, passive profit. But It is obvious I need fanbase or customer base with disposable income to buy my products.

This will take a long time, but it can be done. My current passive income outlets are Chanillo where my novel is, Pixabay graphic designs I upload there, Zazzle where I have designed clothes on display, Vida same thing. Focusing on the future I think I will focus on Pixabay, Zazzle, Chanillo and my website going forward.

Patreon will be a nice plus in the near future. Wattpad I am already on, it can be a platform for promoting myself with novels I will write and do not feel like to publish. Right now my profile is bare and I have not uploaded anything. Still read stories on Wattpad though to inspire me. My website will be strictly short stories.

As far as selling graphic design packs and templates I could throw in some photoshop tutorials but that might be pushing the boundaries of how much I am currently doing as is.

So it is a lot to think about but I won’t give up. Successful I may not be yet, but my drive will bring me there soon enough.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. Check out his work on his website or follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw, google, pinterest

Am I successful?

Leave a Reply

