For the Love of Your Life

rose

When you have a woman you would die for in your life what do you do to keep her? The best advice is not to try and keep her. No matter how much you love her if she desires to leave let her. Your job was never to keep her but to love her. When the love is gone let it go and move on.

Dying for someone is something many throw around but few muster up to. The general feeling I have for the people I love as laid a powerful strength I reach for when ready. Is it enough to make me die for the love of my life, the step son I take care of. This I would love to say but I cannot be sure of this until the situation arises.

Love is not static, love varies and changes as time passes. Love hurts when it ends but you learn from each plunge of the sword into your heart.

Much time has passed for us. We have been together and broken up before. It seemed most of our problems came to a fore when things started improving. Sometimes I was jealous, bitter that I was not going up in the world as much as her. A man always wants to feel like he is in control or better. It was funny I am usually humble, I never expected myself to fall to such a thing.

But mentally I was still an emotional man. Insecure I made major problems out of simple matters just to hurt her. Because I had a powerful woman and I knew not what to do with her. If I cannot love myself why would she love me? That was the question that toppled those dangerous thoughts.

But it started an even more dangerous problem, I loved myself so much now I pretty much became independent of her.

She loves me and stays with me to emphasize this if she sought greener and different pastures she would have left for them. Same goes with me, being independent of each other. We want the best for each other and ourselves in the relationship. Together we support each other, but at the end of the day if either seeks to move on the pain will not be immense to kill either of us.

If she left me, though it would hurt, I can move on just fine less stress on me anyway. If I left her, she will not cry her eyes out she has a large number of men in her draft pick to choose from. But when we are together the love and excitement we hold for each other’s presence and personality far exceeds any stress relief of the relationship at all. That is the truth.

The ending of the relationship would leave a big hole that would be hard to fill. Trust me I can attest to this, I felt it myself. But I moved on mentally and got a new resolve even.

But I never stuck to it, when we cleared the air and talked, the love came flowing in like a hurricane. Blowing away all the painful words and hate into the heights of the nadir. So the question I ask is what do I do to keep her? Nothing.

When you try too hard you die hard. When I think about it is best to not fix something that is not broken. Sometimes the simple thing to do is to leave everything to time and do your best. Overdoing and over thinking it gets you nowhere.

The relationship should save itself, not you saving it.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. Support him on Patreon Check out his work on his website or follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw, google, pinterest

For the Love of Your Life

Leave a Reply

