Rest or Work

Sleeping

Drink, party, debauchery, all the irresponsible fun I could have. Sometimes I wish I could throw away my responsibilities, then rest and party for the rest of my life. But if I do that I will get nowhere and I will be resting in the same spot. Partying is fun, but it does not bring your life further in anything to be honest. You cannot progress unless you get up and do something. It is simple, whether it be work, chores or responsibilities.

Granted rest is important, but too much gets you nowhere. Like with me, I only sleep two to four hours if I can. All that time translates to a lot of work done. Sometimes you have to make sacrifices to get ahead. That is how you grow. By losing and winning. Sleep I lose, wealth I gain, fun I lose, career I gain.

So why work so hard? Think of it this way, do you want to work all your life or work very hard for 20 or so years. See sometimes you have to see the bigger picture. Young people tend to not think of the future as much as the present. Trust me I have been hungry, I am not going back to that. Working hard in my young age, I can eat and travel like hell when I am old.

Sounds good right? Especially since the work I do, I am passionate about. Everyday feels like a party (most times). Working towards passions will get you up most days. The small chores with said passion, work or career matter little when the end goal is in reach.

That is what gets me up every day. That is what drives me to put aside things such as rest, partying or getting drunk. Because I want to be happy for the rest of my life not a few minutes, eight hours, not one night, but for the rest of my life.

Rest, I will get that when my work is done and not before.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth. Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life. He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer. Support him on Patreon Check out his work on his website or follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw, google, pinterest

Rest or Work

Leave a Reply

