Focus on You

centre of the firelight

When I think about the time I felt less than most humans on this planet there was one overarching question. Why did I have to work so hard and they did not? The thing was I could not be sure how hard they worked. So I was making up things in my head based on how hard I worked. Just because I worked hard does not discredit the work someone else has put in.

So yes I felt entitled to my belief, even though it was wrong. Am human, I make mistakes, that was a mistake. When I did that all it did was gave me a false idea of how hard I worked. Because trust me some people work way harder than you think. So I worked at that pace without realizing that people work harder than that. Sometimes you have to hear it, even feel it for yourself to understand how hard people work to reach where they are.

Once I realize it makes you understand the circumstances of what makes a person successful. If you think you are less than any other man, then you will falter easily from lack of confidence. If you think you are entitled you won’t work as hard. All those things hold you back.

As a person who wanted to progress having things hold me back was not an option. So I had to change my attitude. My way of interacting with the world, my overall mindset that had to be changed. At some point, I had to let go of my resentment of rich people and forgo my bitterness at being poor.

Hating the successful people I desired to become would get me nowhere. All I had to do was work hard at something I believed in. If success comes, that would be great. If not, then back to the drawing board. The motto is never give up. Never distract yourself with stupid questions about what other people have and why they have it.

Worry about what you have and what you want. Watch yourself not everybody else.


David Shaw is a certified nerd and scum of the earth.
Jamaican by birth, he enjoys long walks and the simple things in life.
He is also an entrepreneur, writer and graphic designer.
Support him on Patreon
Check out his work on his website or follow his mundane madness on twitter @davidcs_aw, google, pinterest

Focus on You

Leave a Reply

